The Gordon Burn Prize

About the prize

The Gordon Burn Prize was founded in 2012 to celebrate the legacy of the late author, Gordon Burn. A fearless and forensic writer, Newcastle-born Burn was a literary polymath, who wrote in depth on subjects ranging from celebrity to serial killers, politics to contemporary art, sport to the media. The Gordon Burn Prize seeks to illuminate the work of those writers whose work follows in his bold footsteps.

The Prize is run in partnership with the Gordon Burn Trust, New Writing North and Faber & Faber. The winning writer receives a cheque for £5,000 and is offered the opportunity to undertake a writing retreat of up to three months at Gordon Burn’s cottage in Berwickshire. 

Previous Winners

  • 2013 Pig Iron by Ben Myers 
  • 2014 The Wake by Paul Kingsnorth 
  • 2015 In Plain Sight: The Life and Lies of Jimmy Savile by Dan Davies 


  • Publishers are permitted to submit up to 6 titles per imprint, in print or digital format.
  • The prize is open to work written in World English by writers of any nationality or descent who at the time of entering are permanently resident in the United Kingdom or United States of America. 
Works of translation, books for children, and poetry are not eligible for the prize. 

Please consult the New Writing North website for full terms and conditions as well as submission guidelines, or visit the Gordon Burn website for further details on The Gordon Burn Prize, as well as information on Gordon’s work. 

Media Enquiries

For all media enquiries, please contact: